Koto Ryû Koppojutsu

"Tiger Knocking Down School"

Dr. Hatusmi is the 18th Soke.



This school places an emphasis on using the opponent’s bone structure
and skeleton to defeat him. Strikes are generally targeted to areas
that disrupt spinal alignment and locks are applied in the same
fashion. The schools koppojutsu consists of mostly striking with some
joint locks and throws. Also taught in this school are Ken jutsu
(sword arts), Shuriken jutsu (throwing blades), and Tanto jutsu (Knife
arts). It has been said that this school along with Gyokko ryu form
50% of Bujinkan training because of how well they compliment each
other. Koto Ryu uses short distances between opponents – Gyokko Ryu
uses long distances. Koto Ryu uses a direct strategy with techniques
that are quick and straight to the point – Gyokko Ryu techniques are
more complex favoring indirect attacks. Koto Ryu concentrates on
striking – Gyokko Ryu on locks and throws. It is thought that the Koto
Ryu came from China via Korea, by Chan Busho, a Chinese warrior. The
school was eventually passed on to Sogyokkan Ritsushi who was also
Soke of Gyokko Ryu and with him the two schools were brought
completely together. Regardless of this they were taught and passed on
to the next generation as separate schools within the same lineage.

Lineage of Koto Ryu:
1. Sakagami, Taro Kunishige -Tembun era (1532)
2. Sakagami, (Bando) Minamoto Masahide -Tembun era (1532)
3. Sogyokkan, Ritsushi -Tembun era (1532)
4. Toda, Sakyo Ishinsai -Tembun era (1532)
5. Momochi, Sandayu I -Tembun era (1532) (died 1581)
6. Momochi, Sandayu II -Tensho era (1573)
7. Momochi, Tanba Yasumitsu -Bunroku era (1595)
8. Momochi, Taro Saemon -Genna era (1615)
9. Toda, Seiryu Nobutsuna -Kwanyei era (1624)
10. Toda, Fudo Nobuchika -Manji era (1658)
11. Toda, Kangoro Nobuyasu -Tenna era (1681)
12. Toda, Eisaburo Nobumasa -Hoyei era (1704)
13. Toda, Shingoro Masayoshi -Shotoku era (1711)
14. Toda, Daigoro Masayoshi -Gembun era(1736)
15. Toda, Daisaburo Chikashige -Bunkwa era (1804)
16. Toda, Shinryuken Masamitsu (Kobe) 1824-1908
17. Takamatsu, Toshitsugu Uoh (Nara) Taisho (1909) 1887-1972
18. Hatsumi, Masaaki (Noda) Showa (1968) 1931-